The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

22.830 Keywords • 48.320 Synonyms • 5.299 Translations • 7.907 Pronunciations • 152.274 Cross-references

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Aragonia (GB)
Aragón (ES)
L’Aragon (F)
Aragão (PO)
Aragona (I)
Aragón (N)

One of the 17 regions Spain (Span. Aragón) with three provinces in the northeastern Iberian Peninsula, which includes the wide valley of the Ebro. It lies between Catalonia (east) and Navarra (west). In the 11th century, after the Abandonment of the Moors to the south, an independent kingdom was created here, which in the meantime became the home of the Balearic Islands, Navarre and Sicily, as well as Catalonia included from the 12th century. It existed until the end of the 15th century and was then incorporated with other areas of the Spanish empire. Viticulture has been here since the 2nd century BC. Operated Chr. In the north on the Pyrenees border too France there is maritime climate in front. By Spanish standards, there are relatively abundant rainfall. The most important white wines are Macabeo. Garnacha Blanca. Chardonnay. Gewurztraminer and Moscatel ( Muscat Blanc ), which are the most important red wines Garnacha Tinta. Tempranillo. Cabernet Sauvignon. Merlot. Syrah and Monastrell, The four DO areas of the region are Calatayud. Campo de Borja. cariñena and Somontano,

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.