The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

22.749 Keywords • 48.619 Synonyms • 5.293 Translations • 7.912 Pronunciations • 150.181 Cross-references

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

authorized grape varieties

According to EU Regulation Member States must classify wine grape varieties planted in their territory for the production of wine or refined be allowed to. These must be of the European species Vitis vinifera or from a cross of this species with other species of the genus Vitis (eg the Asian Vitis amurensis or the American Vitis labrusca ) come. Six grape varieties are prohibited, although they meet these conditions. These are Clinton. Herbemont. Isabella. Jacquez. Noah and Othello, Why exactly these six have historical reasons, which today also no one knows or can explain from official side any more (one of the secrets of European Union laws). It is about American hybrids But there are also a lot of others who are very well allowed to grow. If varieties are deleted from the classification, the areas concerned shall be eligible within 15 years of their removal clear (except areas for the in-house wine consumption).

Cabernet Sauvignon, Grüner Veltliner, Pinot Noir, Riesling

However, this classification only applies to cultivation and does not automatically mean that these varieties may also be used for all wine quality classes. If the above conditions are fulfilled, the decision - making authority lies with the responsible bodies of the wine producing countries, These determine on their own responsibility, which...

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.