The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

22.856 Keywords • 48.241 Synonyms • 5.299 Translations • 51.012 Pronunciations • 152.571 Cross-references

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Cinque Terre

DOC area (also Cinque Terre Sciacchetrà) for white wine in the Italian region Liguria, It is named after the 12-kilometer-long, climate-favored coastal strip of the Italian Riviera between Punta Mesco and Punta di Montenero on the Gulf of Genoa and means "Five Lands" or "Five Villages". These are the coastal towns of Monterosso al Mare, Riomaggiore (with the three sub-zones of Costa de Sera, Costa de Campu and Costa da Posa), Vernazza and the area of the capital La Spezia Tramonti Piassa and Tramonti di Campiglia in the province of La Spezia. The area is protected as a national park and was declared a UNESCO in 1997 World Heritage explained.

In the 1960s there were still vineyards in the area of about 1,600 hectares. Due to the extremely complex and only in laborious manual management possible about 90% were abandoned. Today, the vineyards cover only about 100 hectares. They are in dry stone-backed, steep terraces created. The vineyards are among the steepest vineyards Europe. The vines are partly traditional Pergola system behaved. The Bianco is made from the varieties Bosco (to 40%), Albarola and or Vermentino (maximum 40%), as well as other approved varieties such as roller blind (max 20%) pressed. From the same varieties of the Strohwein Cinqueterre Sciacchetrà (also called Riserva ) produced from rosinated grapes. The grapes for this specialty must originate from the sub-zones Costa da Posa, Costa de Campu and Costa de Sera of the municipality Riomaggiore and may have the name on the label carry.

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.