The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

23.006 Keywords • 48.226 Synonyms • 5.304 Translations • 28.313 Pronunciations

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Colli Orientali del Friuli

DOC area (also Friuli Colli Orientali) for red wines and white wines in the region Friuli-Venezia Giulia; near the border too Slovenia and Austria, The name means "Eastern Friuli Hills". The DOC area closes in the south Collio Goriziano in the province of Gorizia (Gorizia), the border is the Judrio River. Both geologically similar areas were once part of the Austrian Habsburg Empire. But while Udine became Italian in 1866, Gorizia only came after the First World War in the early 1920s Italy,

The zone comprises the hill area in the eastern part of the province of Udine with 14 crescent-shaped municipalities grouped around the city of Udine. These are Attimis, Buttrio, Faedis, Cividale, Corno di Rosazzo, Manzano, Nimis, Povoletto, Prepotto, Premariacco, San Pietro al Natisone, San Giovanni al Natisone, Tarcento and Torreano. It extends in the form of an elongated chain of hills on the edge of the Udine plain from Buttrio in the south to Tarcento in the north. The majority terraced Vineyards cover around 2,100 hectares of vineyards on calcareous marl and sandstone soils at 100 to 350 meters above sea level. They are protected from the cold north winds by the Julian Prealps, while the mild Mediterranean air is a very cheap micro climate for viticulture.

The large area is structured in five subzones with three DOCG areas. The Cialla subzone covers an area north of the Prepotto municipality. The two subzones Ribolla Gialla di Rosazzo and Pignolo di Rosazzo comprise areas of the municipalities Corno di Rosazzo, Manzano and San Giovanni al Natisone in the province of Udine with the DOCG area Rosazzo, The subzone Schioppettino di Prepotto comprises a part of the municipality Prepotto. The sub-zone Refosco di Faedis comprises sub-areas of the municipalities of Attimis, Faedis, Nimis, Povoletto, Tarcento and Torreano with the DOCG areas Ramandolo and Colli Orientali del Friuli Picolit,

The varietal wines must contain at least 85% of the respective variety, 15% can be other approved varieties. The white wines are Chardonnay, Malvasia (Malvasia Istriana = Malvazija Istarska ), Pinot Bianco ( Pinot Blanc ), Pinot Grigio ( Pinot gris ) Ribolla Gialla, Riesling Renano ( Riesling ), Sauvignon ( Sauvignon Blanc ), Friulano - formerly Tocai Friulano ( Sauvignonasse ), Traminer Aromatico ( Gewurztraminer ) and Verduzzo Friulano,

The red wines are Cabernet (Cabernet Franc and / or Cabernet Sauvignon and / or Carmenère ) Cabernet Franc. Cabernet Sauvignon. Merlot. pignolo, Pinot Nero ( Pinot Noir ) Refosco dal Peduncolo Rosso. Schioppettino and Tazzelenghe, The wine types Bianco , Dolce and Rosso can be produced in any use of all approved grape varieties (with the exception of Traminer Aromatico in the Bianco).

The subzones can be on label for certain types of wine, listed after the DOC name. For the subzones Ribolla Gialla di Rosazzo , Pignolo di Rosazzo , Schioppettino di Prepotto and Refosco di Faedis (Refosco Nostrano = Refosco di Faedis ) there is only one wine, although the grape variety is included in the name. In the Cialla subzone , on the other hand, there are the wine types Bianco, Ribolla Gialla, Verduzzo Friulano, Rosso, Refosco dal Peduncolo Rosso and Schioppettino. The label may be used for wines with at least 24 months of aging Riserva be used. This is at least 50 months for the Cialla subzone, 46 months for the Schioppettino di Preppoto subzone and 38 months for the wine type or the Refosco di Faedis subzone.

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.