The estate is located in the municipality Schwaigern in the German wine-growing region Wuerttemberg, The administrative seat of the Counts of Neipperg is located not on the old Hohenstaufen castle complex from the 12th century, but in the count's castle in Schwaigern, which was built in 1702 on a destroyed in the Thirty Years' War castle. The castle also houses the winery, whose vaulted cellar is located in the former moat. Lord and owner of the castle and winery is Karl Eugen Erbgraf zu Neipperg. Bernd Supp has been responsible for the cellar since 1992. The Neipperg family also owns the two wineries Château Canon-La-Gaffelière and Clos de L'Oratoire in the French Saint-Emilion, which are led by brother Comte Stephan Neipperg.
The Württemberger vineyards cover 30 hectares of vineyards in the two single-owned individual layers Schlossberg (Neipperg) and Ruthe (Schwaigern). They are with the red wines Lemberger ( Blaufränkisch ) Schwarzriesling, Pinot Noir ( Pinot Noir ) and Trollinger ( Schaiva Grossa ); as well as with the white wine varieties Riesling. Müller-Thurgau. muscatel and Traminer planted. About 40% of them are steep slopes that with a unique method of cross terracing are cultivated.
The Lemberger has an old red wine tradition. He is said to have been introduced by the family from Austria after the Thirty Years' War (there he is called Blaufränkisch ) and is especially well maintained. The soils are in the steep southern slopes of mineral rich Gipskeuper with shares of permeable gravel panels. The tops of the slopes are made of reed sandstone, the building material of many castles in the region. The flagship is the red wine "SE" from Merlot, which is matured in new barriques. In climatically suitable years, ice wines are also pressed. The winery is a member of Vewreinigungen The goods and VDP (Verband Duetscher Prädikatsweingüter).