The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

23.021 Keywords • 48.219 Synonyms • 5.303 Translations • 28.327 Pronunciations • 154.138 Cross-references

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Former wine region in Austria, renamed Wagram in early 2008, which underwent some changes in the 15 years of its existence. In 1993, the Donauland-Carnuntum wine region was separated and both parts became independent. 1995 then became the district of the wine region Donauland Traisental separated and also became its own wine-growing region. The wine region Donauland, which was reduced as a result, consisted of the separate sub-regions of Wagram (around 2,400 hectares, north of the Danube ) and Klosterneuburg (around 350 hectares, south of the Danube). The name Donauland has never really prevailed. More and more winegrowers made a name for themselves under the term Wagram, the name Donauland became an almost superfluous appendage. After long discussions, the name was changed to Wagram decided. For Klosterneuburg a large location has now been created within the Wagram wine-growing region. The new name became valid from the 2007 vintage.

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary

Calendar EVENTS NEAR YOU To Online-Events

Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.