The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

22.950 Keywords • 48.202 Synonyms • 5.304 Translations • 28.257 Pronunciations

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Beside Meißen one of the two areas of the German cultivation area Saxony; look there.

The growing area is in the state of Saxony in Germany, It cannot be proven that the cultivated viticulture goes back to Bishop Benno von Meißen (1010-1106). A winegrowing on the Elbe was first in 1161 in one Cistercian monastery directed gift certificate of the Margrave Otto of Meissen (1156-1190). Elector Christian I (1560-1591) enacted the first winegrowing regulations in 1588. At the beginning of the 17th century, winegrowers from Wuerttemberg were brought to the Elbe in order to cultivate "Württemberger Kind" methods like that terracing to introduce the steep slopes through dry stone walls. As the wine was cultivated in the lowlands of the Elbe and had replaced food production there, Elector Johann Georg III. (1647-1691) in 1684 the ban "Where the plow can go, there shouldn't be a vine". The Saxon royal family owned vineyards in Pillnitz and Wachwitz, whereupon the Royal vineyard suggesting. In the middle of the 19th century there were still almost 1,700 hectares of vines, but a large part of them mildew and phylloxera destroyed.

Climate and soil

The vineyards cover 501 hectares of vineyards north of the 51st parallel and extend 50 kilometers in length on the slopes of the Elbe and its tributaries. On the border to Poland is the easternmost German vineyard. Since 2006, some vineyards in the state have also been counted Brandenburg with the four municipalities Burkersdorf, Luckau, Neuzelle and Schenkendöbern to the cultivation area Saxony. The Saxon Wine Route leads from Seußlitz in the north along the Elbe to Pirna just before the border Czech Republic, The floors consist mainly of slate with sandstone, clay, loam and loess. There is a continental climate with hot, dry summers and occasionally harsh winters with late frosts.

Map of the region of Saxony

Areas, municipalities and locations

Saxony consists of two areas, four large locations and 23 individual locations. The Meißen area is divided into the large areas of Schlossweinberg, Spaargebirge, Lössnitz and Elbhang, the Elstertal area with the three municipalities of Jessen, Kleindröben and Schlieben does not have a large area. The Brandenburg areas are free of individual layers. The winegrowing communities with their individual layers:


There have been no major changes since 2009. There is no clearly dominant grape variety...

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.