The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

23.020 Keywords • 48.219 Synonyms • 5.303 Translations • 28.326 Pronunciations

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


AOC area in the wine-growing region Southwest France immediately west of the AOC area Gaillac, From the 2005 vintage, the name replaced the name "Côtes du Frontonnais". When the first classification was made in 1975, the two VDQS areas Villaudric and Fronton were merged. It is a very old wine-growing area, the first vines were planted by the Romans. It was once owned by the knights of the Order of St. John, founded around 1050. During the siege of Montauban, the capital of the Tarn-et-Garonne department and then the headquarters of the Huguenots, King Louis XIII. (1601-1643) and his Minister Cardinal Richelieu (1585-1642) extensive wine tastings here.

The terraced Vineyards cover 2,300 hectares of vineyards in the communes of the Haute-Garonne and Tarnet-Garonne departments on the left bank of the Tarn. One third are rose wines and two thirds are also red wines known as “Beaujolais from Toulouse”. These become at least 50 to a maximum of 70% of the main variety Négrette, as well as the varieties Syrah. Cabernet Franc. Cabernet Sauvignon. Fer Servadou. Gamay. Cinsault and Mauzac Noir blended. Well-known producers in the sector are Château Baudare, Château Bellevue la Forêt, Château Boujac, Château Bouissel, Château Cahuzac, Château Coutinel, Château Flotis, Domaines de Gaze, Domaine Joliet, Château Marguerite, Domaine du Roc, Château Plaisance and Château St-Guilhem.

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary

Calendar EVENTS NEAR YOU To Online-Events

Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.