The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

22.916 Keywords • 48.221 Synonyms • 5.307 Translations • 28.223 Pronunciations

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


DOC area for red and white wines in the Italian region and on the island Sicily, The zone includes the municipalities of Menfi, Sambuca di Sicilia and Sciacca in the province of Agrigento, and the municipality of Castelvetrano in the province of Trapani. There are two subzones named by sub-areas in the municipality of Menfi called Feudo the Fiori and Bonera.

The varietal wines must be made from at least 85% of the respective variety. The three white wines are Ansonica ( Inzolia ) Chardonnay and Grecanico ( Garganega ). The five red wines are Cabernet Sauvignon. Merlot. Nero d'Avola. Sangiovese and Syrah,

The Bianco comes in any mix of Ansonica, Catarratto Bianco Lucido, Chardonnay and Grecanico (75%) and other approved varieties (max. 25%) blended. The Vendemmia tardiva ( late vintage ) is used in any way by Ansonica, Catarratto Bianco Lucido, Sauvignon ( Sauvignon Blanc ) and Chardonnay. The Rosso (also called Riserva ) is produced in any mixture of Nero d'Avola, Sangiovese, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Syrah (70%), as well as other approved varieties (max. 30%).

The white wine from the Feudo dei Fiori subzone is made from Ansonica and / or Chardonnay (80%) and other approved varieties (up to 20%). The red wine from the Bonera subzone (also as Riserva) is produced in any use of Nero d'Avola, Sangiovese, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Syrah (85%) and other approved varieties (max. 15%).

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.