The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

23.071 Keywords • 48.236 Synonyms • 5.303 Translations • 28.377 Pronunciations • 155.300 Cross-references

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Navarre (GB)
Navarra (PO)
Navarre (F)
Navarra (I)
Navarra (N)
Navarra (ES)

In 905 King Sancho I founded his own Kingdom of Navarre (Basque Nafarroa) with the capital Pamplona. In its heyday under Sancho III. (990-1035) it stretched from Barcelona to Bordeaux on both sides of the Pyrenees. The first residents were Basques whose influences can still be felt today. The Count of Champagne Thibaut I inherited the kingdom in 1234, after which it was administered by several French rulers. In 1512, the greater part of Upper Navarre south of the Pyrenees was annexed by Ferdinand II of Aragon and became Spanish. The son of the Queen of Navarre Johanna mounted as king Henry IV (1553-1610) the French throne in 1589 and divided the northern part into the kingdom in 1607 France on. The area has a very old wine-making tradition. One was found near the village of Funes antiquity Roman winery with around 75,000 liters capacity.

In the 11th century, the famous pilgrimage route "Camino de Santiago" (after Santiago de Compostela in Galicia ) by Pamplona. The pilgrims enjoyed wines from the west adjoining the road Rioja and Navarre and this also led to a lively export of Spanish wines to Normandy. Navarre was already famous for its rosé wines in the 15th century. After the discovery of America in 1492, the area experienced a huge wine boom. The ships in the New world were loaded with wine from Navarre. At the end of the 19th century, the phylloxera the then 50,000 hectares were almost 100% destroyed and were replanted completely. In 1911 Navarre became one of the first in Spain Winzergenossenschaften founded. The Research Institute has a large share in the boom in viticulture Evena,

Today, the Navarre region, with special, autonomous rights in the north-east of Spain with 17,300 hectares of vineyards, also forms its own huge DO area. There is also a DO regulation for the well-known sloe liqueur pacharán, Geographically, the large area is divided into the five sub-areas Tierra Estelba and Valdizarbe in the north, Baja Montaña and Ribera Alta north of the Ebro in the center and the largest area, Ribera Baja with 30%, in the south. There are the four as Vino de Pago defined areas Finca Bolandín. Pago de Arínzano. Pago de Otazu and Prado de Irache, A small part of the region in the west belongs to the DO area Rioja,

60% red wines and 30% rose wines are produced. The main varieties for this are Garnacha Tinta (40% of the total area), Tempranillo. Cabernet Sauvignon. Graciano, Mazuela ( mazuelo ) Pinot Noir and Merlot, For the white wines, the Viura ( Macabeo ) Garnacha Blanca, Malvasia ( Planta Nova ) Chardonnay and Moscatel Menudo ( Muscat Blanc ) used. There are over 6,000 winemakers, but only around 100 bodegas (bottlers). Well-known producers include Artazu, Asensio, Cirbonera, Guelbezu, Inurrieta, Julian Chivite, Ochoa, Palacio de la Vega, Principe de Viana, Telmo Rodríguez. Vicente Malumbres, Viña Aliaga and Virgen Blanca.

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary

Calendar EVENTS NEAR YOU To Online-Events

Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.