The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

22.489 Keywords • 49.919 Synonyms • 5.295 Translations • 7.929 Pronunciations • 144.662 Cross-references

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Quality wine-grape varieties

According to EU Regulation Member States must classify wine grape varieties planted in their territory for the production of wine or refined be allowed to. These must be of the European species Vitis vinifera or from a cross of this species with other species of the genus Vitis (eg the Asian Vitis amurensis or the American Vitis labrusca ) come. Six grape varieties are prohibited, although they meet these conditions. These are Clinton. Herbemont. Isabella. Jacquez. Noah and Othello, Why exactly these six have historical reasons, which today also no one knows or can explain from official side any more (one of the secrets of European Union laws). It is about American hybrids But there are also a lot of others who are very well allowed to grow. If varieties are deleted from the classification, the areas concerned shall be eligible within 15 years of their removal clear (except areas for the in-house wine consumption).

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary

Privacy Notice:

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.