The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

22.916 Keywords • 48.221 Synonyms • 5.307 Translations • 28.223 Pronunciations

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


DOC area for red wines, rosé wines and white wines in the Italian region or on the island Sicily, The zone includes the two municipalities of Sciacca and Caltabellotta in the province of Agrigento. The Riserva Rayana subzone comprises a narrower area.

The varietal wines must contain at least 85% of the respective variety, a maximum of 15% can be other approved ones. The three white wines are Chardonnay, Grecanico ( Garganega ) and Inzolia, The four red wines are Cabernet Sauvignon. Merlot. Nero d'Avola and Sangiovese,

The wine types Rosso and Rosato are mixed in any mixture of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Nero d'Avola and Sangiovese (70%). The Bianco is produced in any mixture of Inzolia, Grecanico, Catarratto Bianco Lucido and Chardonnay (70%). The white wine Reserva Rayana is made from Catarratto Bianco Lucido and / or Inzolia (80%).

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.