The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

23.062 Keywords • 48.235 Synonyms • 5.303 Translations • 28.368 Pronunciations • 155.291 Cross-references

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Pays des Trois-Lacs (F)
Three-Lakes Region (GB)

Wine region spanning four cantons in the Switzerland around the three Jura lakes Lac de Bienne (Lake Biel), Lâc de Morat (Lake Murten) and Lâc de Neuchâtel (Lake Neuchâtel). These big ones waters have a positive influence on the climate for viticulture through sun reflection. The vineyards cover 945 hectares with three areas. The one in the north of the canton Vaud lying area Bonvillars consists of the three appellations Bonvillars, Côtes de l'Orbe and Vully. In terms of wine law, however, only the Vully appellation on Lake Murten belongs to the Three Lakes Region. The other two appellations Bonvillars and Côtes de l'Orbe on Lake Neuchâtel are geographically also in the Three Lakes region, but are not included at the express request of the Vully winegrowers. Vully is also special because this appellation extends over the two cantons Freiburg (107 ha) and Vaud (50 ha). Vully's winegrowers see themselves as a common wine region, even though there is a cantonal border with different wine regulations. To the canton Neuchatel count areas on Lake Neuchâtel and a small part on the northwest shore of Lake Biel; in total this is 605 hectares. The majority of Lake Biel, however, belongs to the canton Bern,

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary

Calendar EVENTS NEAR YOU To Online-Events

Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.