The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

23.062 Keywords • 48.235 Synonyms • 5.303 Translations • 28.368 Pronunciations • 155.291 Cross-references

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Département in the south-east of France in the political region Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur. It was named after the village of the same name Vaucluse (today Fontaine-de-Vaucluse) and is situated in the middle of the départements Gard (west), Ardèche (northwest), Drôme (northeast), Alpes de Haute-Provence (east), Var (southeast) and Bouches-du-Rhône (south). The western border is formed by the Rhône. At the beginning of the fourteenth century, due to power struggles in Rome, the capital Avignon became the seat of the popes for seventy years and thus the capital of Christianity. Vaucluse is divided into the two regions Provence and Rhône according to wine law. The vineyards cover about 50,000 hectares of vines. The AOC areas are:

Gemeindeappellation Côtes du Rhône-Villages Sablet

The Vaucluse is the name of the IGP area covering the entire département. This can be supplemented by the narrower geographical designations Aigues and Principauté d'Orange. Vaucluse is also part of the large regional IGP area Méditerranée. It produces 75% red, 15% rosé and 10% white wines. The main red wine varieties are Grenache Noir(Garnacha Tinta), Cinsaut, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon and Carignan Noir(Mazuelo). The main white wine varieties are Grenache Blanc(Garnacha Blanca), Bourboulenc, Rolle(Vermentino), Ugni Blanc(Trebbiano Toscano) and Chardonnay.

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary

Calendar EVENTS NEAR YOU To Online-Events

Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.