The largest wine encyclopedia in the world

22.795 Keywords • 48.334 Synonyms • 5.299 Translations • 7.909 Pronunciations • 152.057 Cross-references

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

World Heritage

The UNESCO (United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization), based in Paris, was founded in London in 1945 as a special organization of the United Nations (nearly 200 states). It lends its title World Heritage (World Heritage Site) to sites that are world-famous for their uniqueness, authenticity and integrity and are proposed by the states in which they reside. The title is based on the 1972 1972 ratified by 190 countries and came into force in 1975 World Heritage Convention. As of mid-2016, the UNESCO World Heritage List included 1,052 monuments in 165 countries. Of these, 814 are listed as cultural monuments and 203 as natural monuments, another 35 monuments are listed as both cultural and natural heritage.

Wachau - view of Dürnstein

By signing the Convention, each country commits itself to protecting and preserving the monuments of extraordinary, world-wide importance. In addition to the honorable recognition, the respective national authorities are obliged to undertake the preservation of these "world cultural goods" with the utmost energy. Otherwise, the entry can also be deleted again. The following winegrowing areas are in the whole or at least partly defined area of classified World Heritage Landscapes:

World Heritage - Douro valley with terraced vineyards

Wachau: From Kit on Pixabay
Douro: By Bruno Rodrigues , CC By -SA 3.0 , Link

World's largest wine knowledge database, made with by our author Norbert Tischelmayer.

About the Glossary


Privacy Notice: ×

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.